The International 8 features 18 participating teams.

The teams competing for the title of Dota 2 world champions have been decided. The qualifiers for The International 8 wrapped up on June 25, with teams from North America, Europe, and Southeast Asia earning their spots after a week of intense competition.

The final three teams to secure their place at The International 8 were OpTic Gaming, OG, and TNC Predator. These teams, along with the other 15 that qualified, were among the top 20 in Dota 2 Pro Circuit points.

Qualified teams

Qualified via DPC points:

  • Team Liquid
  • Virtus Pro
  • VGJ Thunder
  • Mineski
  • Team Secret
  • Vici Gaming
  • Newbee

Qualified via regional qualifiers:

  • Evil Geniuses
  • OpTic Gaming
  • VGJ Storm
  • WinStrike
  • OG
  • Fnatic
  • TNC Predator
  • Team Serenity
  • Invictus Gaming
  • paiN Gaming

OG’s run through the European qualifier is worth noting. Despite losing two key players, Fly and s4, OG put together a makeshift roster and dominated the European qualifier, only dropping two maps in total.

Notably absent from the list of teams is Na`Vi, who failed to qualify for the CIS regional qualifier.

Now, the 90 players attending have two months to prepare for the most prestigious Dota 2 competition.

Share This Article