Kiev Major qualifiers conclude

After three days and over 300 games, we now know the eight teams that will complete the field at the Dota 2 Kiev Major.

Team Secret, Onyx, Virtus Pro, Faceless, TNC Gaming, Invictus Gaming, and IG Vitality will compete with eight other teams at the $3 million event.

The qualifiers ran from March 10 to 13. China and Southeast Asia were the only regions sending more than one team, making the North American and European qualifiers especially important.

Most of the advancing teams were considered favorites in their respective regions. However, there was a major upset in the North American qualifiers.

Team Onyx, with former TNC Gaming support Jimmy “DeMoN” Ho and Filipino up-and-comer Abed Azel “Abed” Yusop, staged an impressive campaign in the North American qualifier. They defeated compLexity Gaming in the grand finals.

Despite losing in the opening round of the playoffs, Onyx made their way through the losers bracket by defeating Team Freedom and NP Gaming. Abed’s world-renowned Meepo was a highlight in their series against NP.

In the finals against compLexity, the series went to a decisive third game. Abed once again displayed his dominance on Meepo, securing Onyx’s spot at the Kiev Major.

The eight qualifying teams will join OG, Evil Geniuses, Wings Gaming, the former Ad Finem roster, Team Liquid, Digital Chaos, Newbee, and VG.J at the Kiev Major. The group stage date is yet to be announced, but the main event will take place from April 27 to 30 at the National Palace of Arts in the Ukrainian capital.

Share This Article