DreamLeague scraps separate qualifiers for South America and CIS region

Dota 2 Season Announces Qualifiers for Final Major of 2017

The qualifiers for the final major of 2017 in Dota 2 have just been announced as the new tournament season gets ready to kick off.

Known as DreamLeague, the eighth season of this Dota 2 league will conclude at DreamHack Winter in Jönköping, Sweden in December.

In order to qualify for the major, there will be four separate qualifiers held in different regions: North/South America, Europe/CIS, China, and Southeast Asia. The qualifiers will start with an open competition and the top teams will then move on to a regional round robin league. A total of eight teams will advance, with six teams coming from the Americas and Europe/CIS qualifiers, while China and Southeast Asia will each send one team.

However, there has been some controversy regarding the structure of the qualifiers. Valve’s own announcement for the upcoming tournament season stated that each major must have at least one qualifier from each of the six primary regions. With no separate South American or CIS qualifier, DreamLeague Season 8 could potentially exclude teams from these regions.

Valve has made efforts to provide more opportunities for South America and CIS in the past, so it remains to be seen if other tournament organizers will follow DreamLeague’s approach.

The grand finals for DreamLeague Season 8 will take place from December 1 to 4.

Share This Article